Project
Bundespolizei / Smart Borders

Pilot project to test permanently optimised border control processes

Smart Borders: an initiative of the EU Commission with the aim of enabling more efficient entry and exit for non-EU citizens. The Schengen external borders are to become intelligent with an entry/exit register and improved control procedures are to increase security.

At the German pilot sites at Frankfurt Airport and the cruise terminal in Rostock-Warnemünde, various technical alternatives for recording the biometric data of travellers were tested within the nine-month EU pilot project. At the same time, all process changes resulting from the introduction of an entry/exit register and their impact on the overall border control were examined - Germany was thus the only EU Member State to fully test the EES-specific control processes end-to-end and evaluate the impact on the planned border control process. The EU Commission's pilot project was formally terminated in November 2015. However, the German project participants are continuing the project nationally in further piloting variants until mid-2017 in order to gain more well-founded findings over a longer period of time.

Federal Police Pilot Project Smart Borders
"We have been successfully using the central PKI system since 2011. After the smooth implementation, the eID PKI Suite has proven to be extremely reliable and stable during operation. We could not afford system failures in the sovereign task of border control."

EasyPASS Project Manager, Department 54, Federal Police

In order for the national border control points to be able to access this data during document verification, their readers must be equipped with digital certificates, which are issued centrally in Germany by the Federal Police. The Federal Police, in turn, has commissioned secunet to implement the DVCA (Document Verifying Certification Authority) certification instance required to create these certificates.


As well as the execution of cryptographic functions and key management for the connected border control systems. The entire certificate exchange and authorisation process thus runs fully automatically in the background of the visible border control.


The German Federal Police relies on secunet's know-how and proven technologies: In addition to the DVCA, secunet has already implemented the TCC and various applications for border control at the Federal Police, such as the semi-automated EasyPASS border control system at Frankfurt Airport.


secunet Security Networks AG
Kurfürstenstraße 58
45138 Essen

Phone: +49 (0) 201 5454-0
E-Mail: info(at)secunet.com

Twitter | LinkedIn | Xing

© 2021 secunet Security Networks AG

Projekt
Bundespolizei / Smart Borders

Pilotprojekt zur Erprobung dauerhaft optimierter Grenzkontrollprozesse

Smart Borders: eine Initiative der EU-Kommission mit dem Ziel, effizientere Ein- und Ausreisen für Nicht-EU-Bürger*innen zu ermöglichen. Die Schengen-Außengrenzen sollen mit einem Ein-/Ausreiseregister intelligent werden und verbesserte Kontrollabläufe die Sicherheit erhöhen.

An den deutschen Pilotstandorten am Flughafen Frankfurt und dem Kreuzfahrt-Terminal in Rostock-Warnemünde wurden innerhalb des neunmonatigen EU-Pilotprojekts verschiedene technische Alternativen für die Aufnahme der biometrischen Daten von Reisenden getestet. Gleichzeitig wurden alle durch die Einführung eines Ein-/Ausreiseregisters resultierenden Prozessänderungen und deren Auswirkungen auf die gesamte Grenzkontrolle untersucht - Deutschland war damit der einzige EU-Mitgliedstaat, welcher die EES-spezifischen Kontrollprozesse vollständig Ende-zu-Ende erprobte und den Einfluss auf den geplanten Grenzkontrollprozess evaluierte. Das Pilotprojekt der EU-Kommission wurde formal im November 2015 beendet. Die deutschen Projektbeteiligten führen das Projekt national jedoch in weiteren Pilotierungsvarianten bis Mitte 2017 fort, um fundiertere Erkenntnisse über einen längeren Zeitraum zu gewinnen. 

Bundespolizei Pilotprojekt Smart Borders
"Wir haben das zentrale PKI-System seit 2011 erfolgreich im Einsatz. Nach der reibungslosen Implementierung hat sich die eID PKI Suite im laufenden Betrieb als äußerst zuverlässig und stabil erwiesen. Systemausfälle könnten wir uns bei der hoheitlichen Aufgabe der Grenzkontrolle auch gar nicht leisten."

Projektleiter EasyPASS, Referat 54, Bundespolizei

Damit die nationalen Grenzkontrollstellen bei der Dokumentenprüfung auf diese Daten zugreifen können, müssen ihre Lesegeräte mit digitalen Zertifikaten ausgestattet sein, welche in Deutschland zentral von der Bundespolizei ausgegeben werden. Die Bundespolizei wiederum hat secunet damit beauftragt, die zur Erstellung dieser Zertifikate erforderliche Zertifizierungsinstanz DVCA (Document Verifying Certification Authority) umzusetzen.


Ebenso wie die Durchführung von kryptographischen Funktionen und das Schlüsselmanagement für die angeschlossenen Grenzkontrollsysteme . Der gesamte Zertifikatsaustausch- und Berechtigungsprozess läuft also vollautomatisch im Hintergrund der sichtbaren Grenzkontrolle ab.


Die Bundespolizei vertraut hierbei insgesamt auf das Know-how und die bewährten Technologien von secunet: Neben der DVCA implementierte secunet bei der Bundespolizei bereits das TCC sowie diverse Anwendungen für die Grenzkontrolle, wie beispielsweise das teilautomatisierte Grenzkontrollsystem EasyPASS am Flughafen Frankfurt.


secunet Security Networks AG
Kurfürstenstraße 58
45138 Essen

Phone: +49 (0) 201 5454-0
E-Mail: info(at)secunet.com

Twitter | LinkedIn | Xing

© 2021 secunet Security Networks AG